The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

tfios

You could hear the wind in the leaves, and on that wind traveled the screams of the kids on the playground in the distance, the little kids figuring out how to be alive, how to navigate a world that was not built for them by navigating a playground that was.

-TFiOS, 307

My boyfriend actually had me read this book, and I have to say it’s one of the best books I’ve read in a while. The main characters are kids and young teens who are living with or have been touched by cancer, and about trying to make sense of the world in a much shorter timespan than allotted to anyone else. For a such a sad subject matter, the book has a surprising amount of humor. More than once I sat giggling to myself as I read, giving a half-hearted attempt at stifling my laughter. The book was also surprisingly deep, and I could spend days contemplating some of the insights brought up in the book. The characters are humanly simple and realistic. They are people that I could imagine existing outside of the romantic pages of a novel, yet they are still beautiful in their honest wonderings of the world and their complex ideas. This story brings in to question what it means to live as well as to die. To quote the main character, sometimes you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. This is such a book.

Just a note. My boyfriend’s copy of the book is signed. I’m incredibly jealous.

4 thoughts on “The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Leave a Reply

