Photo Diary: Labor Day Weekend

wow, sorry for the hiatus. to be fair though I have had a really awesome labor day weekend camping with friends and then catching the last day of Bumbershoot at the Seattle Center.

Lake Roosevelt, WA

IMG_20130902_024441

our campsite ended up being about two hours further than I thought it would be (whoops). we drove 6 hours up to northeastern Washington to camp on the northern shore of Lake Roosevelt; the lake is almost 130 miles long so that’s probably where the extra two damn hours came from. needless to say, by the time we finally found it we were all sick and tiered of being in the car. if we had gone about 20 more miles we could have visited Canada! or at least looked across the boarder at Canada, only one or two of us actually had a passport. the lake wasn’t swimmable which was a real bummer. it was gorgeous but there were warnings for swimmer’s itch (there are no showers at the campground) and there were bugs hugging the shore of the lake that I was not particularly eager to swim with. however we stopped at sun lakes on the way back (I’ve been there on a previous camping trip and it’s a fun place to swim). otherwise the group site we stayed in was large and nice and we had a bit of privacy from the rest of the camp sites. the campground was well kept and clean, but also peaceful and quiet. the lake has a boat launch. if you ever get a chance to stay at the Evans campground I would go 🙂

IMG_20130902_025103 IMG_20130902_023655

Blog Post Edit: I decided to go back and add in some photos that my friend Julie took from our camping trip. a bit of scenery from our campsite and our lovely boys kicking back and getting along (probably talking about video games or computers but we love them anyway).

1278188_417594918352726_395676556_n
1238260_417595171686034_1515495259_n
1098333_417595081686043_1439069019_n
1185369_417594788352739_1829409725_n

Bumbershoot Music Festival

bumbershoot was a lot of fun too, although not everyone in our group had that much fun (we had a Russian guest with us). ryan really loves Alt-J so we got into Key Arena to see them. I was very impressed by their performance, they sound amazing live. the greatest disappointment was MGMT though, their performance was terrible and many people left early. including ryan and I when we decided we didn’t want to stick out another 40min. the sound mixing was bad and the drums drowned out everyone including the singer; you couldn’t hear a word he said even on the one song he played that I knew (I didn’t even stick around for him to play my favorite songs, that’s how bad it was). some other bands saved the day though, including a new band we found called the Kopecky Family Band (they’re not actually related…) and one of my favorite bands, The Joy Formidable! I also liked listening to Delta Rae at the Starbucks Stage. the joy formidable put on a great show though, despite having some sort of equipment malfunction after their second song. the female lead is an adorable welsh blond who shreds on the guitar, it was amazing!

IMG_20130902_212950 IMG_20130903_155412
IMG_20130903_162016 thejoyformidable

I had such an amazing weekend with my boyfriend and friends, it was great! I actually learned a lot about my friends this weekend, and I feel closer to some people now than I did before. it was the sort of weekend that could very well stand as my end of summer finale as we all start thinking about going back to school and as the weather begins to get cold again. I don’t want it to end, but this has been one of the best summers ever and is probably the first summer that didn’t feel like it went top fast and which I don’t feel like I wasted (although I would love to get me some more summer, don’t get me wrong!). i’m moving into my townhouse this Saturday, and just signed away most of my savings for it (tear, sliding down my cheek) and my Seattle academic life will resume again. I may try to fit some more events in before school starts, but for the most part summer is over now. its been real.

Note: I didn’t get a picture of the joy formidable so I borrowed this one.

xoxo,

name

5 thoughts on “Photo Diary: Labor Day Weekend

  1. Mariya Kuyan

    i can’t believe you guys liked alt-j! i thought he was SOOO boring and all his stuff sounded the same lol. mgmt was crappy too, way too loud and no interesting light show or anything, glad i left 😛 i wish i saw delta rae, you shoulda texted me and told me they were good! glad you guys had fun camping 🙂 and i can’t wait to see your new place!

    • kaylakrantz

      yea I liked alt-j, although their songs did sound kind of similar. and I totally thought about texting you and having you come over to delta rae and idk, I got distracted somehow and forgot. but yea, you and Julie will have to come over sometime!

  2. The Bank September 14

    I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content by you
    in the future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own blog now ;
    )

Leave a Reply

