Weekend Getaway: Great Views in Washington

this last weekend was one of the best weekends of the summer! (it’s going head to head with the camping trip I went on over the fourth of july weekend). this is one of the weekends that makes me have a great appreciation for Washington and the beauty of the pacific northwest! and I got to spend the whole weekend with my amazing boyfriend, so its a given that it was great! he took me to Deception Pass and Whidbey Island on Saturday (we sang in the car haha) and on Sunday we threw a surprise homecoming party for my friend Julie at Golden Gardens Park.

Deception Pass

IMG_20130813_015402

the bridge across deception pass provides an amazing view of the ocean! or maybe it’s still the Puget Sound? bottom line is that the horizon is nothing but water. and it is beautiful!! we went and had lunch at a picnic area in the actual park, where I got eyed for a while by a really suspicious looking seagull (why are they such creepers?). I loved the trip because I felt like I was let into a special little corner of Ryan’s world, and I just followed him wherever he wanted to take me. i’d probably follow him anywhere.

Whidbey Island

IMG_20130813_013946 IMG_20130813_014931

Ryan took me up this giant sand dune (which was an adventure, let me tell you) and we got to look out across Useless Bay and see the beautiful pink sunset. it was breathtaking, a small piece of time where your life takes a pause and just lives in the moment. a moment of quiet impact. Fort Casey has a pretty lighthouse sitting on a hill. small, but picturesque. we brought our bikes in case there was time to ride but the day started slipping away from us a bit faster than we anticipated.

Golden Gardens Park, Seattle

IMG_20130811_204034 IMG_20130813_013259
IMG_20130813_020211 IMG_20130813_014432

Ryan and I went earlier in the say on Sunday to save a fire pit at a beach in seattle that I’ve never been to (my beach of choice is usually Alki). good thing we got there when we did because out of the 7 or 8 fire pits there were only 2 left! I can see myself coming to this beach a lot more often. as always, beach sunsets are always beautiful and it was a great time to introduce my boyfriend into my circle of friends (all went well!) and to reconnect with some friends I haven’t seen in a while. Julie was super surprised and at first came up to us thinking what a coincidence that you guys are here too! silly girl. she just came back from getting her yoga teaching certificate from a school in costa rica! we were all super jealous looking at all her amazing pictures.

08
22
25

as always, my awesome photographer friend Mariya took some great pictures from the beach so go over and see the rest of those!

all in all, this was an amazing weekend for me with amazing people and I have never been so excited to be where I am with the people i’m with. while our relationship is not always ideal and at times rocky, this is one of those times when I can honestly say Washington, I love you.

xoxo,

name

7 thoughts on “Weekend Getaway: Great Views in Washington

  1. Molly

    Love this πŸ™‚ I’m so happy for you, Kayla! It’s amazing when the right person comes into your life – it’s hard to explain how great it is! πŸ™‚ I’m really sad I had to miss the surprise party 😦 I feel like I haven’t seen you guys in ages!
    Great pictures by the way!

Leave a Reply

