The Art of Killing Time: July Photo Diary (+ Happy Friday!)

first off, I just edited this post because it realized it actually (the end of) Friday soooo, Happy Friday! it’s amazing to me how every single summer my vacation seems to go by in the blink of en eye, without seeming to have done anything at all. so I asked myself, what is it that I actually do with my time? and it turns out, I just fill my days with lots of little things. so while my summer might not be marked with tons and tons of epic European and tropical vacations, week long camping trips, summer music festivals and parties, I still do a bit more than just lay in bed or sit on the couch all day and watch the sun rise and set every day (although I do still fit that into my schedule here and there).

for example, I spend lots of time with my dog Sam! we took him to a lake recently to see if he would swim, and while he was very hesitant and unsure of himself, he swam! so much fun, I really want to take him out again. he seems to like the water which is a lot of fun.
IMG_20130731_131523 IMG_20130731_130657
IMG_20130725_164142 IMG_20130805_191621

I also like to go on little hikes and trail walks with him and my sisters. since we live in an apartment and we don’t have a fenced yard he doesn’t get out as often and I hate to say it but he’s a little bit pudgy. he definitely jiggles!! so these walks are nice because it gets my sisters and I out of the house on a nice day, all of us get exercise and have a little bit of fun (except for when we manage to get lost, and we’re tired, and didn’t bring enough water with us. then that’s when it’s time to call it quits). but the best part to me is that when we get home, the dog is out!! like a light. he’s so hyper and to energetic and we could spend and hour playing fetch and tug of war (his annoyingly favorite game) and he just won’t tire. so when we get him laid out its awesome!

IMG_20130801_141450 IMG_20130726_164803

after that it’s just all about the even littler things. I do things like paint my nails (this particular color may actually be a bit dark and is better suited for winter but I like it so I wore it anyway!). my sisters and I go to hang out at our local Starbucks. my sister amy actually got a stuffed giraffe from a friend who was in California (her nickname is the Dribbling Giraffe, she got it on the basketball court and it stuck!). I watch movies in the theatre with my friends and sisters. I talk to my sisters about our favorite tv shows. we watch Dance Moms, Teen Wolf (yea…), The Vampire Diaries, Criminal Minds, Project Runway and America’s Next Top Model. i’ll go to a lake or lay by the pool on a hot day. I have a handsome young man I get to see all the time and talk to every day (we are going on a day trip tomorrow!), I work occasionally at Emerald Downs racetrack (today I got to work in the winner’s circle!).so although it seems in hindsight like I do absolutely something and lay on the couch all day like a lazy moose, I actually fill my time with lots of little things and spend time with the people closest to me. so I guess I can’t complain.

IMG_0985

xoxo,

name

2 thoughts on “The Art of Killing Time: July Photo Diary (+ Happy Friday!)

Leave a Reply

